refilling your eggnog.

there are certain holiday movies that i feel jipped if i haven’t watched every christmas season:

elf

white christmas

it’s a wonderful life

miracle on 34th street (the old, old, old version)

a christmas carol (1984 with george c. scott is best)

national lampoon’s christmas vacation

a christmas story

what are your favorite christmas movies?

**********

{we’re dedicating this week to favorite christmas songs, movies, and other traditions. if you don’t have a favorite christmas movie, come back tomorrow when we’ll talk about our other  holiday favorites! and stick around! there will be a fun giveaway at the end of the week! be entered to win for every comment you make on this week’s posts and an additional entry for each tweet you make. drawing on monday.}

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon O
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 01:14:35

    The musical ‘scrooge’ with Albert Finney… it is very good. I think that is my favorite Christmas movie.

  2. john wesley linton
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 01:25:24

    If I were in a listing mode……I would have to go as follows:

    1. Elf…..for more reasons than I can explain here, but this movie just makes me laugh and that is good!

    2. The Grinch……Jim Carey should have stopped making movies after this one, maybe his last really funny movie?

    3. Miracle on 34th Street……the black and white version of this movie captures the true essence of Christmas for me. I love it when Santa is on the stand and they started bringing in the sacks of mail……”do people send letters to Santa anymore?”

    4. It’s A Wonderful Life….now I hate to admit, but I just watched this for the first time a few days ago……where have I been? This was a great movie and I will add to my list must watches every year!

    5. Rudolph……classic claymation and a great story……a tear jerker when they make fun of Rudolph, but he comes back to save the day and extends “Grace!”

    6. Frosty………for the same reasons as “Rudolph”……..classic!

    7. Charlie Brown Christmas……..if for no other reason than the soundtrack to this cartoon……it brings a smile to your face!

    8. A Christmas Carol…….a classic story, but not the Jim Carey cartoon one…..classic George C. Scott still scares me!

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 09:09:15

      we have the same christmas movie tastes! what did you think about ‘it’s a wonderful life’?

      i started to put the grinch on there but then realized i celebrated christmas just fine before i ever saw it, although it is brilliant. and then i couldn’t decide between that and the original cartoon version…again, though, the people-version is brilliant…anyway, so i just took it off all together.

      {we’ll talk christmas specials later this week. they’re in a class all their own. :)}

      thanks for leaving a comment!

      xo

  3. dominic
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 01:48:06

    I came across an article about “A Charlie Brown Christmas” on Carolyn McCulley’s Radical Womanhood blog (Don’t ask how I started following it – it’s been too long, and there’s a lot of good stuff, both for girls and guys.) that talked about how it came to have verbatim quotes from Luke 2 in it:

    “And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger.

    And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying,

    Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.”

    I hadn’t noticed it before (admittedly, maybe I didn’t pay attention), but this may make it my new favorite Christmas movie….

    • dominic
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 01:49:01

      I also have a soft spot for the Muppet Christmas Carol… :)

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 09:11:32

      glad to know you’re in touch with your feminine side, dominic. :)

      you know what…i actually just noticed the christmas story told in the charlie brown christmas special this year myself. glad i’m in good company.
      :)

  4. Steph
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 07:18:36

    Elf, The Polar Express, It’s a Wonderful Life, A Christmas Story, the Muppet Christmas Carol, The Nutcracker, any of the stop-motion cartoons from when I was a kid (Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer comes to mind.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:45:18

      i’ve never been able to watch the polar express in its entirety, for some reason. and i can’t believe i forgot the muppets christmas carol! that is a great one. xo

  5. douglas
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 07:37:25

    i really like the 1938 version of A Christmas Carol. and the TV animation Christmas specials, in particular How the Grinch Saved Christmas, with narration by Boris Karloff. Two classic stories of repdemption.

    • douglas
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 07:51:44

      actually the version of A Christmas Carol I like the best is the one Alistair Sam, done in 1951. It’s known in Britain as Scrooge, which was the orginal name.

      but the remakes upon remakes are cool too, especially the Muppet’s version.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:46:05

      yes. i like the cartoon version of the grinch, too. :)

  6. Leigh
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 10:00:31

    White Christmas is hands-down my favorite Christmas movie, with Elf and National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation after that. Truthfully I’ll watch just about any Christmas movie but those are the 3 that I must watch every year. I also enjoy watching Lifetime Christmas movies, as well as the ones on ABC Family, as long as they don’t become too cheesy and unrealistic (yes, I realize both networks toe the line on believability with each movie but sometimes suspending reality is worth it!) The Muppets Christmas Carol is also a lot of fun and I enjoy The Nightmare Before Christmas as well.

  7. melissa
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 10:04:43

    Muppet Christmas Carol, White Christmas, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, A Christmas Story, cartoon Grinch, Elf.

    We started watching “It’s a Wonderful Life” the other night and realized that for 95% of the movie, it’s a super crappy life. A great story and a great ending, but I don’t think I’ve been able to sit through the whole thing in years.

    Also, I’m not a fan of Holiday Inn. Black face? Really?

    It’s been forever since I’ve seen Miracle on 34th Street. I love that one! Thanks for reminding me.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:48:30

      you know what, jube…i’m not sure i’ve ever seen ‘holiday inn’ in full, come to think of it…that’s it. i’m taking it off.

      and hilarious about ‘it’s a wonderful/crappy life’. :)

      xo

  8. jenn
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:02:50

    I love, love, love the old version of “Miracle on 34th Street” and as I’ve gotten older I have really liked “It’s a Wonderful Life.” “Elf” is definitely a top favorite, too! This Christmas, I have loved all of the Christmas movies on ABC Family and Lifetime. They may be a little cheesy, but I love them! :)

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:49:52

      you and leigh both! i watched one of those abc or lifetime movies about dogs and a magic crystal and some orphans and a toy store not long ago and it was horrible! those stations do rank high on the cheese factor but i will have to give them another shot since you and leigh both suggested them. :)

  9. Amy
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:04:23

    White Christmas is my FAVE! I also watch the Lifetime/Hallmark Christmas movies. :)

  10. kfsullivan
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 11:48:01

    My favorite feature length film would be A Christmas Story, because I saw it with one of the funniest persons that I know… ChrisAnn, my old young life leader from the dark ages. She made that movie forever a happy memory.

  11. Beth
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 13:13:18

    My top three:
    1. White Christmas
    2. Muppets Christmas Carol (I can quote a good portion of this movie)
    3. Love Actually

    And a very close fourth: Elf.

  12. Allison Hensler
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 13:39:13

    I LOVE Miracle on 34th Street (the B&W original)! A Christmas Story is up at the top along with A Charlie Brown Christmas. I haven’t seen Elf or White Christmas so I’m gonna have to check those out. The Polar Express is a favorite of my boys, we’ll have Polar Express days where we wear our PJ’s, drink hot chocolate, play with our toy trains, and watch the movie – so fun! (I’ve even done it in the summer with them) A random new favorite in our house is Phineas and Ferb A Merry Perry Christmas, there’s a part where they talk about the difference in being a naughty person and being a person who does naughty things sometimes. This is huge for my oldest on the autism spectrum (that diagnosis came in October). He has trouble with the gray area of being a good person who can make “bad” choices sometimes. Any who – it’s cute and we like it. Merry Christmas Mary Kathryn :)

  13. Katie Hall
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 14:06:07

    Why haven’t I seen “White Christmas” ??? This makes me question if I really am as much of a jolly little elf as I thought I was.
    I’d have to say
    1)Christmas Vacation. When cousin Eddie is wearing his black dickie under his white turtleneck…and Aunt whats-her-name has wrapped both her cat and her leaking jello mold. . . you just can’t get any better.
    2) How the Grinch Stole Christmas. . .with Jim Carey. I was so impressed with Ron Howard’s version. It is funny, cute, and never fails at getting me in to the Christmas spirit.
    3) Elf, which is truly better and better each time you watch it- as is the case with most Will Ferrel movies.

  14. bobkiddy
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 17:35:24

    The Muppet’s Christmas… when the 2 stop by the door collecting for the poor and scrooge throws them out… Beaker gives the middle finger just before the door closes… watch for it next time…

  15. Trackback: Tweets that mention refilling your eggnog. « beauty for ashes -- Topsy.com
  16. CC Adair Kaspar
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 20:08:04

    My all time FAVORITE Christmas movie is “Scrogged” with Bill Murray!!! It came out in the mid-90′s I think. You should watch it MK this year, it is HI-LARIOS!!!!! It gets me in the Christmas spirit every time and makes me cry at the end.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Dec 14, 2010 @ 08:50:12

      i haven’t seen it! okay, i’ll watch it this year. promise.

      fourth annual elmo’s brunch? haven’t talked to donna yet but i’ll be in town for the day on the 27th. would that work for you? text me.

      xo

  17. Trackback: Breathe In…Breathe Out « Dawn’s Blog
  18. Trackback: Breathe In…Breathe Out | My Life Real
  19. Trackback: a very special christmas…for YOU! « beauty for ashes
  20. quinie
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 12:35:28

    I never get bored watching the Nightmare Before Christmas. Kind of nostalgic as I watch it often when I was a kid.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

