made to crave.

after replying something along the lines of ‘yes, please!’ i was randomly selected to host a study of lysa terkeurst‘s new book made to crave on my blog. over the weekend, i received in the mail two copies of the book – one for me and one to give to a friend. at first i thought i would give the second copy to my sister. after all, we live down the road from each other and we see each other all the time. we share most dinners together.

and then i thought…we live down the road from each other and we see each other all the time. we share most dinners together.

maybe i need to BRANCH OUT.

so i decided to give it to someone else instead.

what i love most about made to crave is that it’s not a diet book. nor is it a ‘live-it’ book. yes, of course it is about losing weight. (i think.) but it’s about so much more than that. i’ve only read the introduction, but it is very clear that in it i will learn more about what my soul is truly craving when i think my body is craving something like…oh, i don’t know…DORITOS or, my biggest weakness, french fries. and ice cream. in made to crave, lysa also teaches us how she came to understand and experience that god alone can truly satisfy such cravings.

i, for one, am a little tired of living in a fat temple. (i honestly don’t even know how many times i’ve said that but haven’t stayed committed to the process of doing anything about it.) it’s not like anyone would even necessarily look at me and call me ‘fat’. (or perhaps they would, i don’t know.)

(i have this tendency to think of myself as being skinny until i see myself in pictures.)

(and then, even if the picture was taken yesterday, i think ‘oh, surely i’ve lost weight since then.’)

(yes, i’m totally delusional.)

anyway, it’s more about making healthy lifestyle choices. loving myself and respecting my body as a temple where the holy spirit dwells and, therefore, treating it as such.

other reasons why i think this book is different than most programs? because of the five admissions lysa makes on the second page of the introduction (parenthetical notations are mine).

1. i am emotionally allergic to typical books on healthy eating.

2. not once in my life have i ever craved a carrot stick.

3. i am not bouncy perky about giving up two of the greatest delights of my taste buds – cheez-its and box-mix brownies. (and then she compares cheez-its to carrot sticks in that they are both orange and so why can’t she eat the cheez-its instead of the carrot sticks.)

4. i wasn’t sure i had any business writing a book like this. (because she was tired of just looking at the scale and eating healthy for the sake of being healthy.)

5. i started this journey weighing 167 pounds.

don’t you love her candor? personally, i am not sure how many folks would consider 167 pounds as ‘overweight’ but i’ve hugged lysa’s neck and seen her up-close-and-personal and, y’all, she’s not big as a minute. that is, she’s not a woman of great physical stature (i don’t think she’s much taller than i am, actually), and anyone who is classified as ‘cute’ (because, let’s face it, a woman at 5’10″ isn’t ‘cute’ the way that a woman who is, say…5’1 3/4″…which is just a random number i pulled out of my hat…) is probably at an unhealthy weight if they are, say, past 130 lbs. my point is: 167 probably did look and feel like a lot of weight on her tiny body. just like my own weight doesn’t sound like a lot to most by number but makes a significant difference on the distortion of my size if my healthy weight is actually 10-15 pounds less than i am now. in other words, 5 pounds makes a big difference on a small person.

my even bigger point is this: i know there are a lot of women out there (and i’m sure a lot of you men, too, but i don’t know if this is normal fodder for your conversations) who struggle with their self-image – not to mention, self-control. and whether you are 20 or 200 pounds overweight, i have a feeling this book will address that central issue for all of us -our cravings and how we choose to satisfy them- and help us move past it in freedom.

i might also submit that there are plenty of you who don’t gain weight no matter how much you eat, so it’s easy to make unhealthy choices without thinking about your body.

i might also submit that, though this book is specific to healthy living, i am confident it will speak to anyone who substitutes ____ in lieu of more of god in their lives.

in other words, i think this book probably is for a bigger audience than just those who hope to lose weight.

i am excited to read lysa’s new book and i want to invite y’all to read it with me. you can order it online here or here. OR…YOU CAN WIN IT RIGHT HERE! leave a comment on this post sometime this week, leave a message on the beauty for ashes fan page, or tweet about it using the shortlink and i’ll throw your name in my jar for each entry you make! (be sure to come back here and tell me you’ve tweeted about it in case i miss it somehow.)

i’ll announce the winner friday morning so i can mail it off to you that day (or bring it to you, as was the case with my friend jennhem who won the christmas giveaway).

i might request this time, though, that the winner actually live in the usa. (sorry, quinie. or anyone else who lives in MALAYSIA.)

the reason why is because i would like to actually dialogue with you about the book, be partners as we study together. (which is why it would be difficult to partner together if the book won’t even get to you in less than 30 days.) we can even do it over email, which is probably the best way – or even skype! that would be cool, no? {the truth is, i HATE talking on the phone. as in, i have an allergy to it. like, i BREAK OUT IN HIVES when my phone rings. okay, that’s not true. but it is true that i don’t really like the phone.} you don’t have to win the book in order to participate in the discussion. if you plan to get the book or are doing this study on your own but would appreciate the accountability, let me know and we’ll include you on the discussion. i would really love that. the more, the merrier!

the only catch is this: if we’re going to do this, you and me, i hope that the winner would be willing to share part of this journey from time-to-time here in this space? i won’t ask you to share your weight in number here, and you won’t have to share weekly (or even monthly). but my hope is that as you and i both have special revelation or especially significant thoughts along the way, we both might be willing to offer them as hope for the others?

selfishly, this is about me, too. i need the accountability. so, think about it and let me know before you respond.

because i’d hate to have to hunt you down and MAKE YOU DO THIS WITH ME.

xo

p.s. the only free thing i’ve received out of this is 2 copies of made to crave in exchange for talking about it a few times on my blog as i actually study the book. (to be honest with you, i had actually overlooked the email which stated i had been selected to win copies of the book.) being a part of her blog discussion groups isn’t an invitation into her inner-circle, doesn’t win me extra credit and, in fact, doesn’t boost me in any way at all. (except that i might have a deeper spirit and a hot body in the end.) i made a comment in one of her posts because craving god more than anything else, and becoming free by way of healthy living, is truly my heart’s desire. i made a comment in one of her posts because i intended to follow through with her request. if you’ve been here long enough, you know that i can only be honest about what i learn from the book (or anything). i hope you’ll join me. xo

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeeBird
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 02:08:35

    Hey chica,

    I’m getting ready to read Made to Crave for the second time…this time with my “today” sisters. I have a group of women on Facebook, and we act as accountablity/encouragement partners for each other. You’re welcome to join us!

    I could hardly put the book down. I want, more than anything, to crave God more than food, more than approval of people, more than anything this world offers.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 08:34:34

      i love that, lee. i would love to stop by for a visit! :)

      so encouraged by this. glad to know it’s so chock-full of good stuff.

      here’s to craving more, with you.

      xo

  2. Angela De Souza
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 04:23:49

    This sounds like a great book, I have been very focused on healthy living this new year and am already feeling better for it :) Don’t put my name in the draw though, I don’t live in USA sadly.

    I look forward to hearing about this book.

    Love
    Angela
    xxx

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 08:35:49

      angeLAAAA!

      i had no idea you were overseas! gah! we could have made other arrangements for the other.

      i’ll figure out a special way to figuratively throw your name in the bucket. :)

      xo

  3. onegirl4god
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 07:26:09

    Hi MK,
    Well. If your blogging this week isn’t hitting all of my needs this week, I don’t know what is. My sugar cravings have had me in physical trouble for quite some time. God spoke to me about having an attitude of worship (question mark to exclamation point) in the areas that I had questions. Giving up the sugar craving for more of God is kind of the point I am guessing. But, for whatever reason, I feel kind of clueless how to do this. I will probably buy the book even if I don’t win the book. Thanks again MK!

    Steph

  4. jenn
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 07:45:38

    I am so excited about this book!! Ever since I got a tweet about it from Proverbs 31, I was interested. I definitely want to crave God more than anything else (even Moe’s and if you know anything about me then you know how much I love Moe’s)!! Thanks for doing this, MK!!
    Love ya!
    Jenn

  5. Jenn Hemink
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 07:47:09

    I forgot to click on “notify me of follow-up comments” after my post. I always do that!!

  6. Allison Hensler
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 09:11:29

    I’m with onegirl4god… your posts this week seem to hit on things that have meaning to me. I’m curious about the book Made to Crave. I read a book last year called Women Food and God. So now I’m wondering what Made to Crave might teach me. I defintally feed myself literally when I what I’m needing isn’t food. The good news is that I’m more aware of what I’m doing, the hard part is figuring out what I need or need to do instead (and dealing with the emotions that come with that – hello therapy). I like your idea of accountability, I think that makes a big difference. So winner or not, this book will probably end up on my bedside table. Thanks for your posts MKT! and have a wonderful day :)

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 21:31:07

      allison, i’m sorry! i thought i responded to you earlier. it does sound like made to crave will be a good follow-up to women, food & god. i haven’t read either, so i’m excited to learn what this one will teach us. hopefully the discussion group will just be a place for us to support and encourage one another. there are study questions at the end of each chapter, so i want everyone to feel free to share what they’ve learned in hopes of helping someone else. glad you’re on board! your name is in the jar! :)

  7. Amy
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 09:43:00

    Do you think if we eat carrot sticks while reading the book that the meaning will sink in even more and then, perhaps, by some miracle, carrots will become our new “go to” food? :)

  8. Jess
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 10:08:54

    Oh.wow. sounds like just the book for me. I have been lamenting over the last few days about how my “cravings” get the best of me. I’m beating myself up trying to figure out how to turn my craving for junk into being an exercise-holic…..hmmmmm. But seriously, I think this book sounds absolutely PERFECT. I have long known that my craving for junk is really a craving for something deeper….and I have longed to read a book that helps me get to the bottom of that and to search for that need in God. Sounds like just the book I need! Like Allison, above, said, winner or not, I think this book will end up in my hands!
    Thanks MK – miss you!

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 13:33:21

      miss you, too! can’t get over how big the boys are – or that i haven’t even met either one of them! has it been that long!? this just won’t do, jess.

      i love all that you said. looking forward to you being a part of the group.

      xo

  9. Leigh
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 10:08:58

    Oh, dude. Count. Me. In.
    I read Lysa’s post for (in)courage however long ago and instantly knew this was a topic I need to explore. I so relate to being tired of living in the fat temple but lacking the commitment to follow through. Every time I adjust the waistband of my pants so my stomach is better contained, every time clothes are a little tighter- and I can’t blame the dryer, every time I think about what I used to weigh, I think I really need to do something about this but then I sit down with a box of crackers or handful (or five) of candy corn. It doesn’t help that I don’t *look* overweight to anyone else and since I’m not married, it’s my little flabby secret and one I haven’t been motivated to change. In February I’m cutting out desserts for a month, kind of to push the reset button on my tendencies. However, I know if I don’t explore what’s at the root of those tendencies, it’ll be a losing battle.
    I am more than willing to join in the conversation however you decide, whether email, Skype (never done it but I’ll figure it out!), or a link-up. You know how I feel about Read-Alongs:)

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 13:31:55

      awesome, leigh.

      girl, i so know all the tricks to hiding the flab…in fact, i started to go into detail and realized i was offering tmi (even for me). :)

      i do know how you love a read-along. you’ll be done with the book within the first 2 1/2 minutes you receive it! it’s my first one, so i’m looking forward to facilitating it!

      so happy you’re in!

      xo

  10. dominic
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 12:35:12

    I’ve noticed this month KLOVE’s been covering the book as well. The morning show blog has excerpts from the book.

    They’ve also had Lysa on the Lisa & Eric show (while the real Lisa is out).

    I’ve tweeted, and I’m commenting right now – +2.

    - d.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 13:26:37

      it came out right before the holidays, so there’s a lot of marketing going on. i’ve only heard positive feedback about it, so i’m excited to jump in and feel encouraged for her.

      so brave, dominic! you’re the first man to respond. way to jump in there!

      name in x 2.

      xo

      • dominic
        Jan 05, 2011 @ 15:22:37

        I was never one for stereotypes (now, archetypes is a different thing).

        And I was considering buying the book regardless.

        (Selfishly: Free is better than $$’s. :)

  11. Heatherly
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 13:01:26

    To which Heatherly responds, “Ohhhh, MK, I really want to win this book. I’m going to buy it either way, BUT…. ”

    I am actually prayed this morning for a way to study this book WITH someone without having them be so WITH me that I feel nervous about “messing up.” I want to be able to focus on the victory which Lysa talked about on KLove this morning, not feel like someone’s keeping score for me.

    What a blessing it’ll be, whether I win or not, to be a part of this community!

    Love you and thankful for you.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 13:25:13

      i know, girl – i’m totally the same. i don’t think i could do it right next to someone, either. but it would be great to have just a community of support and encouragement. we can do it over email.

      so glad you’re in.

      love you much, sister.

      xo

  12. Trackback: Tweets that mention made to crave. « beauty for ashes -- Topsy.com
  13. Heatherly
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 15:07:25

    Knew you would get it. Hence…. participation. <3

  14. brooke
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 21:43:19

    I would love to be on this journey! i am so ready to rely on God to take away these desires, etc.

    I just started reading your blog, and I have to say that I think we have lots in common. Thank you for sharing your heart. I am encouraged by the things you write and share!
    brooke :)

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 22:23:12

      oh, sister. *you* just encouraged *me*. thank you so much for saying that. i tell my stories so that others will know they are not alone, they are enough and wonderful as they are and there is freedom for the taking.

      i’m so, so glad that this might be a place for you to rest your head and heart. i hope you’ll visit often.

      aaand i’m happy to have you join the journey of made to crave! you’re in my jar!
      :)

  15. douglas
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 22:31:04

    seeing Dominic’s comment makes it easier to jump in, but I would have done so without it.

    you say “i’m sure a lot of you men, too, but i don’t know if this is normal fodder for your conversations) who struggle with their self-image – not to mention, self-control.” From my years of experience of being a man, I recall having one conversation with another guy regarding self-control, and that involved alcohol consumption. but never self-image. we guys are weird that way. common struggles that could be dealt with as a team are rarely discussed, usually only begrudgingly. it takes really strong self-awareness in a guy to discuss issues. most of the guys I know talk about sports, music, movies, stuff they like, but rarely are the conversations introspective.

    i’ll exclude myself from the draw as I live outside the USA. but I look forward to the posts that derive from your reading and study of the book.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 09:25:59

      ugh, dougy!

      okay, so. i’ll stick with it for now, just to stay fair, but *next* time i do a giveaway that is exclusive to the ‘u.s.’ i will change it to north america. how bout that? posting to canada isn’t *quite* the same as posting to MALAYSIA. (that is, it doesn’t take quite as long, i don’t think.)

      go on and get the book, though, so you can join the journey with us! thank you for your insight, too!

      xo

      • douglas
        Jan 06, 2011 @ 23:40:39

        that’s fair, Mary Kathryn. I will probably not have the time to read another book, based on my work schedule and the other books I have in progress. I’ll access my time and budget as you begin. and will certainly be learning from your posts as you study.

    • dominic
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 11:18:45

      I’ll have to agree with Doug – I think it takes a considerable amount of self-awareness for guys to be willing to talk about lack of self-control and self-image.

      More often than not, that self-awareness isn’t around – I know it took me 31+ years to become aware enough of my self to realize the havoc that my severe lack of self-worth had caused on pretty much my entire life. Or, at least the last 28 years.

      And the only reason I’m even aware of all this, is from having seen a great therapist for the last 2+ years.

      My heart breaks for the majority of guys who continue on, (un-)happily aware of the ticking bomb inside them.

      • mary kathryn tyson
        Jan 06, 2011 @ 11:25:40

        dominic,

        this. is. awesome. thank you for sharing.

        and congratulations on taking that step toward therapy. good lord, i wish more guys -and people, in general- would realize what a huge difference that makes in one’s life. good for you, dominic. makes me proud to know you.

        xo

  16. sam
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 00:13:09

    Helllooo!

    OK, so I have been seriously MIA :-) On a side note, even if I don’t win I am still going to order and read along!

    Sam

  17. Bobkiddy
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 03:02:44

    this post reminded me of my pastor when we were all out getting ice cream and he commented about his own weight. he said my wife loves me here and pointed to his heart but then he started pointing at his waist and started saying and she loves me a little here.. and a little over here… and more to love over here..

    sorry probably not commenting on what your post is about… tonight i had the prayer room to myself… and it was like coming out of a fog all this week of just blah… i was randomly weeping 2.. some stuff i know and other stuff i was like why am i weeping God…it was soooo messy…. but good…

    also seemingly random but… i left the prayer room bout an hour ago… and still trying to digest it all…

  18. Katy
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 08:28:14

    Mary Kathryn! Just found your blog today. And what perfect timing – this book looks very interesting. In Sept I started really analyzing what I was putting in my mouth and have started “moving.” With the good Lord’s help (cause He knows I can’t do it on my own) I’ve lost 20 lbs and am feeling so much better! Actually ran a 5k in November and planning on a 10k in April.

    So glad I found you here and look forward to following along. Would love for you to come over to my little corner of blogland too! eatdrinkanddecorate.blogspot.com

    xoxo kt

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 09:19:53

      katyyyy!

      you are the cutest thing ever! congratulations on your 20 pound weight loss (that’s my ultimate goal) AAAAND your 5k and upcoming 10k! you are amazing!

      i am so glad you found me, too! i love yours & joe’s blog, too! so clever!

      xo

  19. covered in His dust
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 10:37:26

    Yes, yes, yes I’m in!!! And feel free to hunt me down and hold me accountable…my fat temple is just exasperating and I’m getting quite tired of having to tote the thing around everywhere. And if I may interject, I’ve always thought you had a hot bod seeing as how I wish I looked as good in my cowboy kicks as you do in yours, but I also realize that it’s all relative. So excited to be on this journey with you!

    J

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 12:27:54

      haaaa…i’m not going to hunt anyone down. just want to provide an open and supportive forum by which to encourage each other. so glad you’re in! your name is in the jar!

      love you!

      xo

  20. Trackback: #29 & winner of made to crave. « beauty for ashes
  21. Amy Bissette
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 21:01:57

    Just listened to Lysa’s webcast and they listed you as a blog to read about the book. I bought it the first of the year and want some accountability partners.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 14:30:47

      join us, amy! we are reading chapters 6-8 this week. i’ll have another guest-blogger on friday and everyone is encouraged to discuss their thoughts. so glad you came by, friend! xo

  22. Trackback: beating the giant. « beauty for ashes
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

