God Heals Hurts (guest post)

This one is for anyone who knows what it is to hurt…  I’m not talkin’ got your feelings hurt, although that’s bad enough.  I’m talkin’ ‘bout really hurt.  Knows what it is to have a wound so deep, that’s been there for so long, it’s a part of you.  You can’t hardly distinguish your own self from that place of pain.

Probably was inflicted upon you before your voice ever even dropped or you tried on your first bra.  Might’ve come on you when your hands and your heart were still so fresh and sweet…years before you ever realized that you were gonna need a Savior.

So you grow up and learn to play grown-up.  But the hurt’s still there; it didn’t leave.  You mask it with your ego, ignore it with productivity, and suppress it as you chase success.

At times you thought the hurt was your friend, mistaking self-pity for self-love.  But you’ve long since woken up to realize: it ain’t your friend.

Your wound has now become your enemy.  And it’s developed a persona of it’s own.  You can even see it now, and you hate it, and you hate what it does to you and how it’s held you back…But it’s got you shackled down.  Hopelessness, self-hatred, and defeat are its chains.

And you can’t get away from it… Becomes even comical at times, but it’s never funny… People around you literally become mirrors reflecting your wound back onto you.  And yea, you can name and blame all you want to, but even if everyone else left the room (wasn’t it Aristotle who pointed this out?), the lies and the “issue” would still be there…within you.

I wanted to write this for someone who needs to know that God heals hurts.  I know this, because He’s doing it for me, and within me.  And I mean…for real!  I’ve long since come to a revelation of Christ as the supreme sacrifice unto God for the sake of man.  But I’ve only recently come to discover, on a personal level, that He’s Healer.  In ways I could’ve never predicted, He’s taking my pain away!

So to that one who feels like he or she will never go free…I wanna encourage you: There’s a place for your pain to go.  God will heal the hurt.

I hope this song by Kirk Franklin blesses you this Good Friday.  God has used this man, along with several others, to keep speaking truth to me even when my ears have been too deaf to hear it, my mind too stubborn to believe it, and my heart too hurt to receive it.  But as we remember Christ’s journey to the Cross, this evening I’m going with him.  I’m letting my pain die there – with him.   I’m receiving my healing from His shedding blood.  And I’m holding out in faith for all those around the world tonight that are hurting.

And since we died with Christ, we know we will also live with him. –Romans 6:8

“Everyone Hurts” Lyrics

by Kirk Franklin from the album “Hello Fear”

Everyone hurts, and goes through pain
Whatever’s first, it feels the same
Be young or poor, old age or fame
Know this for sure, everyone hurts, we all feel pain

Everyone hurts, everyone falls
We let love in, still heartbreak calls
Tell me how much can my soul take
We make mistakes, we hurt we need amazing grace

Refrain…

So we pray tonight, that you don’t get weak
And please pray, that I, don’t forget what I believe
Cause these days are hard, and faith sometimes is work
Pray until He heals the hurt
I trust God will heal the hurt

Everyone hurts, we all ask why
Sinner or saint, everyone tries
Life cuts so deep, feels like you’ll die
No cross no crown, can’t give up now, please heal tonight

Refrain…

Chorus…

So tonight we cry out for the world, cry out for the world

Cause everyone hurts, everyone goes through sorrow
Tonight we cry out for the world, cry out for the world,

Please heal our hearts tonight

Everyone hurts but not for long
That weight you bear, will make you strong
Your guilty stains can be erased
The final price, paid by His life, Amazing Grace

Refrain…
I know He will, He’ll heal the hurt…7x

“Listen: Faith is not believing in what He will do; it’s believing in what He has already done.  Not for everything, but in everything, give thanks.  The Lord is my Light and my SalvationWhom Shall I Fear?

Chorus…

*This has been a guest post by Mary Kathryn’s sister, Sarah.  (Thanks for letting me share. ♥)

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. covered in His dust
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:16:54

    “People around you literally become mirrors reflecting your wound back onto you.”

    Wow, Sarah Hope. Wow. I cannot tell you how much I’ve experienced this and you’ve just given it a name.

    • Sarah T.
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 22:28:19

      I’m glad that I could help you identify that crazy phenomenon. From another angle, I think there’s often a “false belief” involved, so you “hear” people telling you the lie you actually believe about yourself. Oh God, thank you for your grace and mercy and cleansing blood to heal, cleanse, and free our minds and hearts.

  2. amandaleightyson
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:29:17

    mary kathyrn & sarah hope… there aren’t even enough ways for me to express how much i LOVE you girls.

    these words are EXACTLY what i needed to hear. it’s like you were speaking right to me. i can actually picture your voices saying it to me!

    you two are the most incredible people i know and i’m just… beyooonddd blessed that you’re in my life.

    i think it’s appropriate for me to say that i’m especially thankful for you girls right now around easter time. it’s my first easter with this new found faith in my life. this time of year actually means something to me now and i have YOU to thank for guiding me in the right direction and teaching me these important lessons.

    so proud to be a tyson :) xoxoxoxox

    • Sarah T.
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 22:31:24

      Amanda!…Tyson ‘cuz and soul sistah!! :) Wow…What can we do but praise Him?!…(and get you on another flight back down South this summer!!) I loved reading your testimony that you shared a few weeks ago…so powerful and beautiful. Thanks for sharing and for being you. :) I love you!!

  3. onegirl4god
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:33:19

    Thanks for sharing Sarah Hope! It’s always good to be reminded that God is a God that heals all wounds, emotional, physical, and spiritual. Jesus’ death on the cross and his subsequent resurrection are proof evident that God so loves us and heals us from our wounds. Which make us no longer bound by the Enemy and ineffective in this world. When our wounds are healed, we can pass on the Light of this world to others so their wounds can be healed. Amen.

    Steph

    • Sarah T.
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 22:34:10

      Well said!! I’ve been thinking about that lately…how He WANTS us to be healed and made whole and go out and minister to those who are hurting and broken. Yes, Lord, fill us with Light!

  4. Keri
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 18:23:51

    This is beautiful. I love that song, too.
    >>>Whom shall I fear? I know He’ll heal the hurt.

    I’m so grateful that He didn’t just nail my sin to the cross, but my pain as well.

    • Sarah T.
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 22:36:08

      …Me too, Keri! And I love that whole “Hello Fear” album!…Can’t get enough of it these days. Bless you. :)

  5. kim sullivan
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 18:51:44

    Sarah Hope,

    Thank you so for sharing this. Everyday, I see a little more of the things you related, that Christ bore all – even those things that we scarcely know how to offer. But, time (seeking to see what others and surely God sees) with Him brings them to light and exchange becomes truly accessible: our deepest, most veiled wounds for wholeness in Him.

    Thought about you this week as we talked about issues near to your/my heart in my economics class. Thank you for being such a example for me. I look forward to visiting with you again.

    Kim

    • Sarah T.
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 22:41:50

      kim, keep writing! i love reading your thoughts. will be thinking about ya’ll at the retreat in a couple of weeks! love to you and to all ya’ll down there in the Delta!! :)

  6. Melissa
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 20:37:11

    I read Jeremiah 30:12 “Thus says the Lord, ‘Your hurt is incurable, and your wound grievous.” And some days I feel every bit of this, plus I read through the next few verses and I am reminded of how I chase after sin to try to heal the wounds but it never does, only making the wound worse, but then I keep reading verse 17 and hope, ” For I will restore health to you and your wounds I will heal” declares the Lord. In Him…

    • Sarah T.
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 22:44:16

      “Your wounds I will heal. Your wounds I will heal. Your wounds I will heal.” I’m just gonna keep letting those words resound in my spirit. That’s HOPE, isn’t it?? Thank you for sharing.

  7. Tay
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 21:16:25

    Thank you for sharing! I so appreciate you baring your heart on this blog. I adore your writing just like I adore MK’s. Please come back anytime! :)

    Tay

    • Sarah T.
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 22:37:32

      Why thank you, Tay! Somethin’ about Good Friday coming on just made me wanna testify!! :) Bless you.

  8. sara
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 21:11:29

    just read in Ragamuffin: “in earlier times it did not take faith to believe that God existed 0 almost everybody took that for granted. rather, faith had to do with one’s relationship to God – whether one trusted in God. the difference between faith as ‘belief in something that may or may not exist’ and faith as ‘trusting in God’ is enormous. the first is a matter of the head, the second is a matter of the heart. the first can leave us unchanged; the second intrinsically brings change.” so what we were talking about the other day. love it. love you both.

    • Sarah T.
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 22:40:02

      i mean just go ONNNNN, brennan! is that book not just rockin’ your world?! i’m gonna have to say that one’s may all-time fav. thankful that we have each other to learn more about what this whole faith and trust thing is all about! love you, love you, love you. xoxo

  9. Jessica
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 12:54:25

    Sarah, Sarah, Sarah…you are so incredibly wise. LOVE YOU!

  10. Trackback: lucky 32. « beauty for ashes
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

