awake, o sleeper.

today, you woke me in hours early to say i love you and i know in my being, heart of my hearts, this to be true and i arose from slumber deep with a thankful heart and the peace that passes that all is well

and i am okay.

good morning day three of welcoming this foreign agent into my foggy body and i know it will take a few weeks before i’m no longer bug-eyed and i can eat again and sleep with rest but i am for now again thankful for my saving grace.

and i am ready for my soul to rest and my spirit to soar and for my heart to not be weepy anymore. and perhaps and most likely it’s psychosomatic that i only just found hope again on tuesday in his office and already feel good inside but it’s all jesus, every bit…

rescuing me, pulling me up step-by-step and out of the hole i stumbled into again but i will leave the gorilla there because that’s where he lives best, where he belongs, and i don’t need him here on the outside.

i feel alive, i feel free and i feel awake again. ready to face the day and all that it holds, with open arms and a willing heart and a spirit inside that heartily offers a resounding, yes.

alive, free and awake.

a good way to start the day, the new year, off with a bang.

   “Awake, O sleeper, 
      rise up from the dead, 
      and Christ will give you light.”

-ephesians 5:14, nlt

you have once again awakened this deep sleeper come alive again in every way.
and i will live and breathe and have your being, from the deep calls to deep…
lord, have your way in me this day.

today’s prompt: awake

join us?

write before you read, without edit or filter.

you are always welcome to use a comment-space here if you don’t have one of your own to fill.

you can find my previous 5mf posts here.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. HopeUnbroken
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 07:13:16

    i know this place you are, all too well. love you for your honesty, and praying for you through it all. hmmm, and it’s probably my second most favorite thing to talk about, as i believe it’s most misunderstood in our culture.
    blessings to you this day, sweet friend,
    steph

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 13, 2012 @ 07:16:06

      I couldn’t agree with you more, Steph. Easily misunderstood.

      Thank you, new friend, for always being so supportive and encouraging.

      Have a great weekend!

      Love you.

  2. Veronica Monique
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 08:45:56

    We all have a place of darkness, some darker than others, some scarier than others, but the light is always brightest when we emerge. Sometimes it’s like we must emerge many times, shedding the darkness and the gorilla many times. Don’t go so deep in that you forget the light you carry. And now I feel a philosophical musing with analogies galore coming on. See, you see, how your word inspire when they come from so honest a place. You shine, even when you need some love and support. My heart thinks of you and I send you strength each time I read your words.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 23:06:11

      {Don’t go so deep in that you forget the light you carry.}

      thank you for this reminder, friend.

      and for your gracious words and for sending warmth and love.

      love you.

      xo

  3. Tay
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 09:49:12

    Awake

    I want to be awake for my life. Fully present. I want to cherish and treasure every moment. As I am nearing the end of my childhood, I have a lot to look forward to in my future. And I want to be awake, fully emerged, in every moment.

    I want to be awake for my first kiss. I want to be awake for the moment when I throw my graduation cap in the air. I want to be awake for the day that he gets down on one knee. I want to be awake to hear their first cry.

    God, awaken me.

  4. kells
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 11:08:39

    good for you! after you commented on my blog I took some time to read a few of your posts. I saw how you’ve been struggling and I want to say there is Hope. I am glad you are ok with your “anti’s” but if you ever wanted to not take them, might I suggest holistic health…not on your own but from a professional. My friend who is a Kinesiologist really really helps people struggling…
    anway I just wanted to throw that out there but I love the verse you included. so much POWER. So much to trust. I love it.

    blessings to you today

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 23:04:16

      thanks so much, kelly, for taking the time to read some of my posts!

      and thanks for your suggestion. i actually have an appointment with my holistic, naturopathic chiropractor in a few weeks – believe me, this is on my list. :)

      xo

  5. kells
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 11:09:19

    as in you could find one in your area…I wasn’t suggesting my friend per say…(hope that makes sense)

  6. Melissa
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 13:31:34

    “you have once again awakened this deep sleeper come alive again in every way.
    and i will live and breathe and have your being, from the deep calls to deep…
    lord, have your way in me this day.”

    Yes and Amen! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

