just do it.

every friday, i link up with other bloggers over the gypsy mama’s house for five-minute friday. the rules are: just write, without edit or filter. as a practice, it taps into my creative writing, which i love to do.

my one suggestion is that you write before you read so that your mind & heart are fully free to speak.

as always, if you don’t have a space of your own to participate, you are welcome to utilize a comment space here.

today’s prompt: trust. 

you’ve already learned to trust me, so now just do it.

so i quit my job with benefits for one more fulfilling but less secure and haven’t looked back. not once.

you’ve already learned to trust me, so now just do it.

all my bills are paid, every month, even though i live paycheck-to-paycheck like we all do anymore and work 3 part-time jobs. but i trust, and he provides.

you’ve already learned to trust me, so now just do it.

i went today to have another mole removed. he wasn’t concerned about it but we’ve been down this road before when i got a phone call instead of a letter and two scars to show for the work he did so meticulously, so he took it off for me.

you’ve already learned to trust me, so now just do it.

and i will trust. yes, i will trust.

adventure awaits but it’s just not time for that right now. one foot in front of the other, the here and the now, my head & my feet in the same place. nose to the grindstone, face set as flint, i press on in the daily toward my own higher calling.

this is my life as i know it for now but not forever and that’s okay. i’m okay.

i trust that he knows and he is and he does and he works on my behalf, for my good because he himself is good. he does not operate for spite, but for my benefit. he only protects, only loves. he is not scary in a way that is frightening or intimidating, but in a way that i can only say, your way is higher than mine, you know more than i do, you see more than i can see

so, i trust. with all that i am, i trust.

to read my former 5mf posts, please click here.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Veronica Monique
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 17:34:33

    It’s good to trust and move in the direction it lead.

  2. Maureen
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 17:37:24

    Beautiful post. This is the first time I’ve tried five minute Friday – was fun, and thought provoking. Amazing, and I’m sure you’ve seen this happen too, you start in one direction and end up somewhere else. Very interesting, as the Lord guides our thoughts. See you next week?

  3. Tay
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 18:18:28

    Trust

    Oh trust. Me and trust don’t always have the best relationship. In some situations, I find it really easy to trust people. My family, my friends, my adult leaders at church: they have all earned my trust. Some people though, have lost my trust. I have witnessed several friends go through messy break-ups and boy drama, so its a lot harder for me to trust boys – teenage boys.

    And then there’s trust in God. It’s easy to say that you trust in Him, but it’s a whole other story to actually put that into action. For example, I am so scared that its not Gods plan for me to get married. I know, I’m young and I shouldn’t be worried because I have a long time, but I can’t help but think about it. Valentine’s Day is coming up and, although it’s a great day to eat chocolate and watch chick flicks, this year, for some reason, Valentine’s Day is harder than usual. It seems like everyone around me is pairing off. Everywhere I walk around campus, people are holding hands and gazing in each others eyes. Part of me gets a little nauseous (smile) but another part of me want to be THAT girl. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to go chase after every boy I see, but my heart does long for that kind of love, and I don’t want to be forever alone.

    As always, I am just TRYING to trust God, that his plans are always best and I shouldn’t worry about the future. It’s all about the messy faith I guess. For now, I’ll just pray, watch a chick flick or two and eat a little chocolate.

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Feb 10, 2012 @ 22:21:32

      oh, presh. i know. i understand. those desires and longings of your heart are very real, and it’s normal for us to have them. that is, we’re *created* with those desires.

      i will be thinking of you on valentine’s as i enjoy my own chocolate and chick-flick. :)

      you’re very loved, tay-tay.

      xo

  4. Phoebe
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 18:59:28

    Oh, I so needed to hear this today. Thank you for sharing your life. Trust is a tricky one for me.
    -Phoebe

  5. Leslie
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 18:59:52

    Just do it!!! Why does it seem, sometimes, that trusting is like jumping off the high dive(I’ve never done that)? Even though, I’ve trusted before and God has never failed.

  6. Katy
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 20:28:24

    yep…..just do it. that’s where i’m at with trust, i just need to choose it and embrace it! great post, friend =)

    • mary kathryn tyson
      Feb 10, 2012 @ 22:14:59

      oh, man! if only it had always been as simple as ‘just doing it!’ learning to trust god, for me, came at a high price – for him. i remember very specifically saying almost 10 years ago, ‘i love you god, but i just don’t trust you’. and, oh my mercy…if he didn’t prove it to me. so, yes. now i have to remember to just choose it. because i don’t want to have to learn it again! :)

  7. Melissa
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 04:41:38

    Hmm…are you in my head? I seem to identify with your life circumstances very closely. In fact as I was driving home at 3am from one of my two part time jobs, furiously thinking about how I am going to pay for everything over the summer when one parttime job ends and God said,”Not now. we’ll sort through things. Trust me. and rest.” And Matthew 6 comes to mind. Seek first the Kingdom… God is so faithful.

  8. HopeUnbroken
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 06:58:23

    “You see more than I can see.”
    clinging to that and all the other amazing attributes of Him right now. trusting that He holds it all in His hands. every. day. trusting.
    have a great weekend,
    steph

  9. Elizabeth M.
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 17:06:11

    LInked through Gypsy Mama…
    Trust really is playing a huge part in your life right now. “He works on my behalf.” A precious thing to remember.

  10. Tay
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 23:11:13

    Hi MK!! Ive been thinking about you a lot and wondering how you are doing! Hope everything is going great over in NC! :) Miss you!

  11. Trackback: an empty cup. « beauty for ashes
  12. MizB
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 09:37:31

    Reminds me of a phrase I recently learned: “Estoy confiando en Dios“. ;)

    ~MizB

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

